Angebote zu "Malcolm" (8 Treffer)

Sharing Security als Buch von Malcolm Chalmers
135,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(135,49 € / in stock)

Sharing Security:The Political Economy of Burden Sharing. 1st ed. 2000 Malcolm Chalmers

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 08.05.2018
Zum Angebot
The Mighty Carlins, Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 87min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

On the anniversary of his wife´s death, Leo Carlin and his two sons come together for their traditional night of sharing the good and not-so-good memories of the dearly departed Mrs. Carlin. Beers are drunk. Plans are hatched. Secrets are revealed. The Mighty Carlins is a black comedy that celebrates a family at its worst. Starring Shane Rimmer, Christopher Ragland, and Christian Malcolm. 1. Language: English. Narrator: full cast. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/009510/bk_blak_009510_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot
The Bedeviled Heart: The Highland Heather and H...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Scotland, 1479 - Cameron Malcolm Stewart, Earl of Lennox, had made his peace with destiny. It was not his fate to love as other men. Wed and widowed seven times, he had come to believe that sharing his name alone would consign a woman to an early grave. So, on the sunny spring day Cameron encounters a delightfully devious, bright-eyed lass selling charmed stones in one of Stirling´s alehouses, he tosses her a shilling, thinking only to steal a kiss. But it is a kiss that will change his life forever. To care for her ailing father, the precocious Kate Ferguson has resorted to swindling the drunkards of Stirling. But a chance meeting with a handsome and seductively mysterious outlaw named Cameron ends with a kiss that changes the course of her destiny. But as dark times descend upon Scotland, Kate is inadvertently caught in a deadly web of court intrigue spun by the royal favorite, Thomas Cochrane. And as King James III falls prey to his fear of the Black Arts, accusations of witchcraft and treachery abound. The fate of Scotland itself hangs in the balance, and while Cameron vows to defy destiny itself to hold Kate forever in his arms, he must unravel the plots of nobles and commoners alike to protect the country that he loves. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Katrina Holmes. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/101793/bk_acx0_101793_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot
The Guernsey Novels - Books 1-3 (The Guernsey N...
4,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Guernsey Novels by award-winning author Anne Allen, linked but standalone stories, and will appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. DANGEROUS WATERS Tragedy seems to follow Jeanne Le Page around . . . Can she really go through it again and survive? She is lucky to be alive … at 16 Jeanne was almost killed in a boating accident which brought heart-breaking family tragedy. Now, fifteen years later, Jeanne returns reluctantly to the island of Guernsey following the death of her beloved grandmother. Struggling for breath as the ferry nears the island; she is overwhelmed by a dark foreboding as hazy memories of that terrible day resurface… Only returning to sell her inheritance - her grandmother´s old cottage - Jeanne has no intention of picking up her old life. But the cottage holds a secret, dating back to World War II and the German Occupation, and Jeanne becomes drawn into discovering more. Then, soon after her arrival, a chance meeting with an old teenage crush leads her to thoughts of love. Jeanne is forced to face her demons, reliving the tragedy as her lost memory returns. When the truth is finally revealed, her life is endangered for the second time… REVIEW ´´The island of Guernsey is so vividly evoked, one feels as if one is walking its byways. An atmospheric and tantalising read.´´ -- Elizabeth Bailey, author of The Gilded Shroud. FINDING MOTHER Three women. Three generations. Sacrifices for love… Who is she really? Nicole is about to find out as she searches for her real mother; the woman who gave her away at birth. With her marriage in tatters, she sets out from England: travelling to Spain, Jersey and Guernsey before the extraordinary story of her real family is finally revealed. Nicole becomes an unwitting catalyst for change in that family. Two women are forced to reveal long-buried secrets. One going back as far as the Second World War. Lives are transformed as choices have to be made and the past laid to rest… REVIEW ´´A sensitive, heartfelt novel about family relationships, identity, adoption, second chances at love… With romance, weddings, boat trips, lovely gardens and more, Finding Mother is a dazzle of a book, a perfect holiday read.´´ Lindsay Townsend, author of The Snow Bride. GUERNSEY RETREAT Two violent deaths. Separated by time, but with a fatal connection… A man loses his father. A young woman loses her mother. Both in tragic circumstances that lead, when they meet, to surprising revelations from the past. Louisa needs to find the father she has never known, to warn him of possible danger - for them both. Her search takes her from England to Guernsey. Malcolm´s journey is more complicated: conceived in Guernsey, his bereaved mother emigrates with him to Canada. Many years later he arrives in India, and from here he is led back to Guernsey to open a health centre at La Folie. This was his father´s home and where he was killed at the start of the Second World War. At the heart of the two deaths lie stolen jewels. Valuable enough to kill for. Twice. Finding her father brings Louisa more than she bargains for, and her life is transformed, while Malcolm learns that life is, after all, for sharing… REVIEW ´´I regard Anne Allen´s Guernsey novels as an indulgent treat: they´re seriously easy to read, with some great characters and a brilliant island location which is used to full advantage: you really feel as though you´re there. Allen has a subtle insight into the dynamics of dysfunctional families . . and the independent people they give birth to.´´ Bookbag

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.06.2018
Zum Angebot
A Single Shard , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 194min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Foraging in fields and on rubbish heaps, and sharing food with his friend Crane-man, used to be enough to fill Tree-ear´s days. But now all Tree-ear wants to do is watch master potter Min at work. Ch´ulp´o is a potters´ village, famous for delicate celadon ware, and Min is the most brilliant of all potters in Ch´ulp´o. He is also known to be short-tempered. Even so, Tree-ear is drawn irresistibly to Min´s workplace. He is fascinated by the miracle of the potter´s craft and dream of making a pot of his own someday. His quest leads him down unexpected paths, with hazards and rewards beyond imagining. This account of a creative spirit on its journey toward fulfillment is set in twelfth-century Korea, where the course of human destiny could be determined by a single celadon shard. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Graeme Malcolm. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lili/000045/bk_lili_000045_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot
Sacred Time , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 507min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The bestselling author of Stones From the River delivers her most ambitious and dramatic novel yet, the unforgettable story of an endearing, but flawed, Italian American family. In December 1953, Anthony Amedeo´s world is nested in his Bronx neighborhood, his parent´s Studebaker, the Paradise Theater, Yankee Stadium, and in his imagination, where he longs for a stencil kit to decorate the windows like all the other kids on his street. Instead, he gets a very different present: his uncle Malcolm´s family. Malcolm is in jail for stealing, once again, from his latest new job, and Anthony´s aunt and twin cousins settle into the Amedeos´ fifth floor walk-up. Sharing a room with girls is excruciating for Anthony, despite his affinity for the twins. But the real change in Anthony´s life comes one evening when he causes the unthinkable to happen, changing each family member´s life forever. Evoking all the plenty and optimism of postwar America, Sacred Time spans three generations, taking us from the Bronx of the 1950s to contemporary Brooklyn. Keenly observing the dark side of family, and its gracefulness, Hegi has outdone herself with this captivating novel about childhood´s tenderness and the landscape of loneliness. Hegi reveals how the transforming power of a singular event can reverberate through a family for generations. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Bobby Cannavale, Mercedes Ruehl, and Annabella Sciorra. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/000473/bk_sans_000473_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot
Whose Global Village?: Rethinking How Technolog...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the digital age, technology has shrunk the physical world into a ´´global village´´, where we all seem to be connected as an online community as information travels to the farthest reaches of the planet with the click of a mouse. Yet while we think of platforms such as Twitter and Facebook as open and accessible to all, in reality, these are commercial entities developed primarily by and for the Western world. Considering how new technologies increasingly shape labor, economics, and politics, these tools often reinforce the inequalities of globalization, rarely reflecting the perspectives of those at the bottom of the digital divide. This audiobook asks us to reconsider ´´whose global village´´ we are shaping with the digital technology revolution today. Sharing stories of collaboration with Native Americans in California and New Mexico, revolutionaries in Egypt, communities in rural India, and others across the world, Ramesh Srinivasan urges us to reimagine what the Internet, mobile phones, or social media platforms may look like when considered from the perspective of diverse cultures. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Malcolm Hillgartner. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/tant/008076/bk_tant_008076_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot
Latest Readings , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 191min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In 2010 Clive James was diagnosed with terminal leukemia. Deciding that ´´if you don´t know the exact moment when the lights will go out, you might as well read until they do´´, James moved his library to his house in Cambridge, where he would ´´live, read, and perhaps even write´´. James is the award-winning author of dozens of works of literary criticism, poetry, and history, and this volume contains his reflections on what may well be his last reading list. A look at some of James´ old favorites as well as some of his recent discoveries, this book also offers a revealing look at the author himself, sharing his evocative musings on literature and family and on living and dying. As thoughtful and erudite as the works of Alberto Manguel and as moving and inspiring as Randy Pausch´s The Last Lecture and Will Schwalbe´s The End of Your Life Book Club, this valediction to James´ lifelong engagement with the written word is a captivating valentine from one of the great literary minds of our time. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Graeme Malcolm. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/025287/bk_adbl_025287_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot